Months of planning and training went in for both admin staff and bowlers in preparation for the prestigious GAUTENG CHALLENGE 2024. A challenge unlike any other where the top bowlers are selected within each of the 5 districts plus Limpopo Bowls, to go head-to-head as they fight for pole position on the bowling green.


 Under new leadership spearheaded by the President Sanette Kritzinger, her executives and delegates, Sedibeng District was chosen to host this thrilling competition with skilled bowlers from Johannesburg Bowls Association, Ekurhuleni Bowls District,  Bowls Gauteng North, Sables, Sedibeng and Limpopo districts.


Run over a weekend on the 20th and 21st January saw over 350 highly skilled and talented bowlers walking onto the greens to come face to face against their competition.


Over 350 skilled bowlers converged at multiple clubs including Riverside, Iscor, Sasolburg and Vanderbijlpark Bowling clubs.  Affording spectators a vibrant atmosphere showcasing fierce competition with such a gathering of talent.


An impressive lineup of bowls enthusiasts with bowlers like Gerry Baker, Emma Murphy, Nicci Neal, Morgan Muvhango, Leone Du Randt, and others, the GAUTENG CHALLENGE 2024 showcased a formidable array of talent and experience. The competition certainly was intense with such accomplished participants.


The various sections Included U15s, U18s, Open men and women, B side men and Women, Veteran men and woman with the following winners within each section.


U15s Bowls Gauteng North

U18s Bowls Gauteng  North

Open Men Johannesburg Bowls Association

Open Ladies Ekurhuleni Bowls District

B side Men Limpopo Bowls

B side Ladies Johannesburg Bowls Association

Veteran Men Bowls Gauteng North

Veteran Ladies Ekurhuleni Bowls District

Overall winners Bowls Gauteng North


Congratulations to the winners who claimed the victory and took the gold. We look forward to seeing everyone in 12 months’ time for an even bigger and better Gauteng Challenge.